What is the NEBOSH diploma?

The NEBOSH National Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety, also simply known as the NEBOSH diploma, is an advanced qualification that has the status of an academic degree.
nebosh logo

Who is the NEBOSH diploma for?

NEBOSH provides different qualifications for candidates at different levels, and the diploma is the pinnacle of its portfolio. It is primarily for people who are already health and safety practitioners, have previous knowledge and experience and wish to take their career further as a manager, consultant or advisor.

What does NEBOSH stand for?

The National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health describes itself as an ‘awarding body’, it offers a range of qualifications to meet the health, safety and environmental management needs of different types of workplace, but does not run the courses that lead to the qualifications. The courses are available from carefully vetted authorised providers, including Phoenix.

NEBOSH examinations and assessments are set and supervised to exceptionally high standards by its own professionally qualified staff. They are assisted by external examiners, who are mostly Chartered Safety and Health Practitioners or Chartered Environmentalists working in industry, the public sector or enforcement agencies.

What does the diploma course cover and how is it assessed?

The diploma consists of four units, spread over 500 teaching hours. The units can be taken in any order over a 5-year period. The four units cover:

  • Managing health and safety
  • Hazardous substances and agents
  • Workplace and work equipment safety
  • An 8-12,000 word written project reviewing the health and safety performance of an organisation.

The first three are assessed by a 3-hour written examination. The written project component is assessed and marked separately.

Why study for the NEBOSH diploma?

The NEBOSH diploma opens doors. Many UK universities accept it as a qualification for access to advanced MSc level courses, underlining its degree-equivalent status.

Like all NEBOSH qualifications, the diploma is recognised by many professional membership bodies including the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH), the International Institute of Risk & Safety Management (IIRSM), the Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management (CIWEM) and the Institute of Environmental Management & Assessment (IEMA).


Letters after your name

Passing the NEBOSH National Diploma means you’re entitled to use DipNEBOSH after your name. It also enables you to apply for Graduate Membership with the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (GradIOSH) and full membership of the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM). You could end up with more letters after your name than there are letters in your name!

Membership of both bodies further increases your employability with organisations looking for skilled and knowledgeable health and safety professionals. Also, with the addition of some workplace experience, the NEBOSH National Diploma makes you eligible to take the exams leading to Chartered Membership of IOSH (CMIOSH).

Interested in exploring the NEBOSH diploma? Talk to the expert advisers at Phoenix for authoritative guidance.