NEBOSH National Diploma Units

NEBOSH National Diploma Units

NEBOSHThe NEBOSH National Diploma course is divided into four units. As well as being able to book and complete the full course all at once, you can also book individual modules/units separately. These units can be completed in any order over a period of 5 years, and Unit is individually assessed by a written 3 hour exam and certificates given for each unit that is completed and passed.

The content of each of the units is as follows:

UNIT A – Managing Health and Safety

Course content

  • Principles of health and safety management
  • Loss causation and incident investigation
  • Measuring and reviewing health and safety performance
  • Identifying hazards, assessing and evaluating risk
  • Risk control
  • Organisational factors
  • Human factors
  • Principles of health and safety law
  • Criminal law
  • Civil law

UNIT B – Hazardous Agents in the Workplace

Course content

  • Principles of toxicology and epidemiology
  • Hazardous substances and other chemicals - assessment of risk
  • Hazardous substances and other chemicals - engineering controls and personal protective equipment
  • Monitoring and measuring
  • Biological agents
  • Physical agents (1) - noise and vibration
  • Physical agents (2) - radiation
  • Psychological agents
  • Musculoskeletal risks and controls
  • Work environment risks and controls
  • Managing occupational health

UNIT C – Workplace and Work Equipment

Course content

    • General workplace issues
    • Principles of fire and explosion
    • Workplace fire risk assessment
    • Storage, handling and processing of dangerous substances
    • Work equipment (general)
    • Work equipment (workplace machinery)
    • Work equipment (mobile, lifting and access)
    • Electrical safety and Electricity at Work Regulations 1989
    • Construction hazards and controls
    • Workplace transport and driving for work
    • Pressure system hazards and controls

Assessment Units

Unit D - Practical Application

This is the practical assessment, which is final unit of the course. It requires the candidates to apply the theory, knowledge and understanding gained from Units A, B and C within a practical setting. 

UNIT A - Managing Health & Safety - Distance Learning
UNIT A - Managing Health & Safety - Classroom
UNIT B - Hazardous Agents - Distance Learning
UNIT B - Hazardous Agents - Classroom
UNIT C - Workplace & Work Equipment - Distance Learning
UNIT C - Workplace & Work Equipment - Classroom
UNIT D - Distance Learning
UNIT D - Classroom

Newsletter signup


  • Accolades
  • Accolades
  • NUS Logo